Announcement: The Daylight Award 2024 laureates


On the UNESCO’s International Day of Light – 16 May 2024 at 18:00 (CEST) in Copenhagen, Denmark – The Daylight Award will announce the 2024 Laureates for Daylight Research and Daylight in Architecture. The ceremony will be livestreamed to a global audience.

The jury of the 2024 award – Juhani Pallasmaa (chair), Dorte Mandrup, Russell Foster, Iwan Baan, Yvonne de Kort, Michael J. Balick, and Gerd Folkers – will be announcing the 2024 Laureates for Daylight Research and Daylight in Architecture at the award ceremony in the Danish Architecture Center in Copenhagen, Denmark. The programme will be livestreamed from website.

The Award organisers invite the global community of architects, researchers, scientists, building professionals, educators, students, members of the press and everyone interested in daylight and its impact on human health and well-being to join the livestreaming and view the announcement and live lectures by the laureates.

Sign up here to receive event notifications and join the live announcement.

A dual prize celebrating interdisciplinarity

The Daylight Award interlinks disciplines that are usually addressed in separated, monocultural spheres, professional circles, or practices. It honours and supports daylight research and daylight in architecture in addition to acknowledging and encouraging scientific knowledge and practical application of daylight. The Daylight Award strives to raise a holistic understanding of daylight and increase its positive impact on life by building bridge between research and architectural practice.


The Daylight Award for Research is awarded to individuals or smaller groups of scientists who have distinguished themselves as outstanding contributors to internationally recognised daylight research. It acknowledges highly original and influential advances in the areas of natural science, human science, or social science, with special emphasis on the effects of daylight on human health, well-being and performance.


The Daylight Award for Architecture is awarded to one or more architects or other professionals who have distinguished themselves by realising architecture or creating urban environments that showcase unique use of daylight. Special emphasis will be put on architecture that considers the overall quality of life, its impact on human health, well-being and performance and its value to society.

Previous Laureates

The three foundations behind the award have a long history when it comes to awarding the best practice in daylight. Since 1980, Villum Foundation, VELUX FOUNDATION and Velux Stiftung have rewarded the following professionals with daylight awards; Jørn Utzon (DK) (1980), Henning Larsen (DK) (1987), Bob Gysin (CH) (2007), Richard Perez (USA) (2008), Peter Zumthor (CH) (2010), James Carpenter (USA) (2010), Lacaton & Vassal (F) (2011), Gigon & Guyer (CH) (2012) and SANAA (JP) (2014). In 2016, The Daylight Award was established as an international award that has rewarded Steven Holl (USA) (2016), Marilyne Andersen (CH) (2016), Hiroshi Sambuichi (JP) (2018), Greg Ward (USA) (2018), Juha Leiviskä (FI) (2020), Russell Foster (UK) (2020), Henry Plummer (US) (2020), Anna Wirz-Justice (CH) (2022), Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara of Grafton Architects (IE) (2022).


To sign up and join the live announcement of the 2024 laureates, go to