LIVING MOSQUE: 4th cycle of the Abdullatif Al Fozan Award

Procedure :
Saudi Arabia


The Abdullatif Al Fozan Award is now accepting nominations for its fourth cycle. The UIA endorsed the third, and today the fourth edition of the Award.

PHOTO: Umbrellas in the Mosque of the Prophet’s Courtyard in Medina (Saudi Arabia), SL Rasch GMBh (2011), First Cycle of the Abdullatif Al Fozan Award.

Nominated candidatures for this cycle may come from any country in the world, but should address not only the religious, but also the social function of the mosque as an urban hub.  The triennial award, founded by Shaikh Abdullatif Al Fozan in 2011, recognises excellence in mosque architecture and the merger of tradition and innovation represented by the contemporary mosque. This is the second edition of the Award which has been endorsed by the International Union of Architects.

In addition to the three original categories – Central MosquesNeighbourhood Mosques and Friday (Juma’) Mosques – the Abdullatif Al Fozan Foundation has included two more categories of mosque: Prayer Halls (Musalla) and Smart Mosques.

Keywords : Mosques, Spiritual places

Theme and objectives

Key criteria

Nominations can be submitted:

Throughout the main nomination platform in the award web portal;

Through international partners or official award coordinators in every country and in every region;

Through direct contact with Nomination Officers at the following emails: or

For more information, see the Abdullatif Al Fozan foundation website 


All mosques must be original architectural work, built after the year 2000 and in current use. No previous recipients of the Abdullatif Al Fozan Award will be accepted.

Jury Members

The members of the international jury will be announced shortly.

Key dates

2020-04-01Nominations open for the 4th cycle of the Award
2021-03-31 Nomination period closed
2022-01-31Jury meeting to decide shortlisted candidate
2022-11-01 Jury Meeting to decide final winners
2022-03-01Announcement of winners